Book Review – Protector by Larry Niven

6108982

Goodreads Synopsis:

Phssthpok the Pak had been travelling for most of his 32,000 years – his mission, to save, develop, and protect the group of Pak breeders sent out into space some 2 1/2 million years before…

Brennan was a Belter, the product of a fiercely independent, somewhat anarchic society living in, on, and around an outer asteroid belt. The Belters were rebels, one and all, and Brennan was a smuggler. The Belt worlds had been tracking the Pak ship for days – Brennan figured to meet that ship first…

He was never seen again – at least not in the form of Homo sapiens.

Review:

It’s another book with an awful yet fantastic cover! This has been on my TBR list for quite a while and wasn’t too long so was a perfect pick after reading some longer books.

The synopsis does a pretty good job of summarising the beginning of the story and really, what happens after that is spoilers so I’m not going to say much more about it, other than I highly enjoyed the plot.

The worldbuilding was very interesting and I loved learning about the Pak society and evolution along with the way Protectors work. I was less of a fan of the society on the earth side of things, and the few women present were very flat and one-dimensional and mostly just there for sex (hurrah for classic sci-fi…)

Despite being such a great story, this isn’t a very long book and is able to be finished quite quickly but at no point did it ever feel rushed which I really enjoyed. The pacing works really well and I can see why this author is so popular.

If you’re looking for some classic sci-fi then I would recommend this as it’s a good story and it’s not that long either! That and if you love ugly covers like me, then it’s great for your collection!

2 thoughts on “Book Review – Protector by Larry Niven

  1. I’ve just started reading Protector and it has me hooked. I had been looking for other brilliant science fiction authors in the vein of Asimov, Clark, Card, and Bradbury. So far Niven is not disappointing. In the first couple of chapters alone he gets the reader interested in this life living in, not a planet, but an asteroid belt, of all places! I actually asked myself what it would be like to live in an asteroid belt, what life would be like, and the author gave me an idea. Also the Pak character, from what I’ve read of him, is scary, like something you would hate to run into in the depths of space, being as cold and ruthless as the coldest and harshest reaches of the galaxy itself, and yet the way Niven explains him you sort of see why he acts the way he acts, like there is a logic to it all. I’m sure the book will explain more as I read on, but so far this book has rekindled my wonder in the cosmos.

    Like

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s